Do I need to eat clean to lose weight?

Food question. Bear in mind that I do the Eat Clean thing almost 100% of the time, for my health. But for losing pounds, here’s my answer:

As far as losing weight, you will lose weight just as fast on a pitiful diet as you would the most healthy diet. It’s just calories. Consider prisoner of war camp survivors. They didn’t fail to lose weight because their diet was very poor. They lost weight, and starved to death because there was not enough food.

Let’s say you’re obese, and have been doing this for 3 months and lost 3 pounds. If you call in for a coaching session, and you should, they’ll say you’re either (a) eating more than you think, or (b) burning less than you think, or (c) both.

For me it’s always (c) both. Over a long period of time I’ve come to accept that the bb Based on Measurements value is right on. When I think I’m eating 1600 calories, I’m really eating 2500. Because the standard values are wrong and I tend to lie. Same for exercise; the BB is more generous to me than it should be.

I don’t know you at all, I’m just talking about me. I had to eat substantially less than predicted, especially since I can eat up in 3 minutes all the calories from an hour at the gym.

If you feel good, are losing, and feel like you’re making permanent changes, then it’s all good, you’re getting the results you want, and the time it takes to get to a particular weight is not in any way the goal.

Leave a Reply

