Never Compare Your Beginning to Someone Else’s Middle

After Yesterday

 “I’ve learned to check myself before I wreck myself. I have to – you have to – or you’ll absolutely drive yourself insane. I’ve learned to celebrate and appreciate the accomplishments of my friends and peers – to take what they’re doing and what they’ve done and use it as motivation – or in some cases simply say, “That’s awesome for them, but just not for me”.
Wherever you are in life with whatever you’re doing – you’re going to be ahead of some and behind others. That’s okay. Own where you are. Take time to embrace and celebrate that. Continue moving forward.
And never compare your beginning to someone else’s middle.”

via Never Compare Your Beginning to Someone Else’s Middle.

Resolve today to never again compare yourself to anyone else in a negative way.

DO compare yourself (!), but only to yourself.  I am much more motivated that that fat old couch potato I used to be.  Today I beat that old slow me from yesterday at the gym.  Today is an improvement over yesterday for me.  It does not matter what the world record in the 5K time is, all that matters is that I made progress today over what I did before.

Leave a Reply

